VGKAMI
Advertise Get listed

Game Guides

Best ARK: Survival Ascended Server Hosting in 2026: Providers Compared

October 26, 2026 13 min read

For a mixed PC, Xbox and PlayStation 5 group, Nitrado is the safest documented default in 2026. Its ASA listing explicitly supports those platforms, integrates CurseForge mod management and offers multiple regions. The 20-slot plan is listed at $24.99 for 30 days but excludes Astraeos and Lost Colony; the 26-slot all-map plan is listed at $32.29 for 30 days.

Choose Survival Servers instead when you value FTP, RCON, clusters, per-map saves and frequent retained backups. Choose Apex Hosting when you run a larger or heavily modded PC community and want a clearly published RAM tier. These are fit recommendations, not performance rankings: the available evidence contains no independent latency, uptime, CPU or load tests.

Which ARK: Survival Ascended host should you choose in 2026?

The right host depends first on platform and administration needs, not on a claimed “fastest” label.

  • Mixed PC, Xbox and PlayStation 5 group: Nitrado has the clearest documented crossplay support and a managed panel.
  • Administrator who needs file access and clusters: Survival Servers advertises FTP, RCON, separate saves per map, location switching and four backups per day retained for six months.
  • Large or heavily modded PC community: Apex Hosting publishes 12 GB, 16 GB and 32 GB ASA plans, making memory capacity easy to compare.
  • Self-hosting: A VPS or dedicated machine gives you control, but you must handle Windows administration, networking, updates, backups and security yourself.

None of the cited pages proves that one provider has the lowest ping, highest uptime or fastest CPU. Provider ping tools and marketing statements are not substitutes for independent gameplay or load testing, so treat those claims as unverified.

How do Nitrado, Survival Servers and Apex compare?

The table below separates documented features from items that the cited pages do not establish.

Provider Platforms and crossplay Maps and slots Price evidence Mods and administration Backups and support
Nitrado PC, Xbox and PlayStation 5 crossplay listed 1–20 players; Astraeos and Lost Colony excluded. 1–26 players on all-map tier $24.99 per 30 days for 1–20; $32.29 per 30 days for 1–26 all-map Integrated CurseForge management; managed control panel Regions include Frankfurt, London, New York, Miami, Los Angeles, Singapore, São Paulo, Tokyo and Sydney. Backup schedule and retention are not stated on the cited listing
Survival Servers Steam, Xbox, PlayStation 5 and Game Pass crossplay advertised 10-slot and 20-slot plans shown; all ten official maps; clusters with separate saves Captured listing shows a 25% first-month promotion; renewal price must be checked FTP, RCON, configurable settings, custom restarts, CurseForge mods and maps, automatic updates, location switching Four backups daily, retained six months; provider-authored CPU, speed and protection claims are not independent tests
Apex Hosting The cited ASA pages do not establish the same console-crossplay scope as the other two providers Plans are presented by RAM rather than a documented slot table 12 GB: $29.24 first month, $38.99 recurring. 16 GB: $53.99 first month, $71.99 recurring. 32 GB: $77.99 first month, $103.99 recurring FTP, automatic updates and backups; RAM-scaled plans suit PC communities DDoS protection, instant setup and support are advertised; backup cadence and retention are not stated on the cited page

Is Nitrado the best choice for mixed PC, Xbox and PlayStation 5 crossplay?

For a group that includes all three platforms, Nitrado is the least ambiguous choice in the documented listings. Both of its ASA tiers explicitly list PC, Xbox and PlayStation 5 crossplay and integrated CurseForge management.

What the 20-slot tier includes

The 1–20-player listing is $24.99 for 30 days. It excludes the Astraeos and Lost Colony maps, so it is suitable only if your group is content with the maps included in that tier. Confirm the current map list and price at checkout because eligibility can change.

When the 26-slot tier is worth the difference

The 1–26-player all-map listing is $32.29 for 30 days. Select it when your group wants access to every map covered by the listing, including Astraeos and Lost Colony, or when a 20-slot ceiling is too tight. The additional slots do not prove better CPU performance; they simply describe the plan’s published player range.

Where you can place the server

Nitrado lists Frankfurt, London, New York, Miami, Los Angeles, Singapore, São Paulo, Tokyo and Sydney. Pick the region that minimizes geographic distance for most players, while remembering that the list itself does not establish a measured latency advantage.

What happens to an ARK: Survival Evolved save?

Nitrado’s FAQ states: “There is no compatibility between ARK: Survival Evolved and ARK: Survival Ascended, meaning saved games cannot be supported.” Treat an ASA server as a separate game environment rather than a continuation of an Evolved save.

When is Survival Servers the better ASA host?

Survival Servers is the strongest documented fit for an administrator who wants to work directly with server files and run a multi-map setup.

Tools for hands-on administration

The listing advertises FTP for file transfers and RCON for remote console administration. You can configure settings, schedule custom restarts, apply automatic updates and switch locations. Those controls reduce the need to wait for a support ticket when you need to edit configuration or coordinate maintenance.

Clusters and separate map saves

All ten official maps are advertised, with clusters that keep separate saves per map. That arrangement is useful for a community that rotates maps or lets players travel between worlds without treating every map change as a destructive overwrite.

CurseForge workflow

CurseForge mods and maps are supported, with automation advertised for installation and updates. Check each mod’s ASA compatibility before adding it; a provider’s automation can deploy files, but it cannot make an incompatible mod work.

Backups and the promotional price

The listing specifies four backups per day retained for six months. That is a concrete recovery window, but you should still identify which backup points are restorable and test a restore before relying on them for a major world. The captured 10-slot and 20-slot prices include a 25% first-month promotion. Because those are promotional first-month figures, compare the renewal amount shown at checkout rather than treating them as permanent monthly prices.

Is Apex Hosting suitable for a large or heavily modded PC server?

Apex is most relevant when you want to size an ASA server by memory and your community is primarily on PC. Its cited pages publish three RAM tiers and include FTP, automatic backups and updates, DDoS protection, instant setup and support.

RAM tier First month Recurring price Best use case
12 GB $29.24 $38.99 Smaller PC community or moderate mod load
16 GB $53.99 $71.99 Populated server with a broader mod set
32 GB $77.99 $103.99 Large or heavily modded PC community

The prices above distinguish the captured first-month offer from the recurring amount. The cited pages do not establish the same Xbox, PlayStation 5 and Game Pass crossplay scope advertised by Nitrado and Survival Servers, so a console-mixed group should verify crossplay in writing before ordering.

How much RAM and CPU does an ASA server need?

Memory demand is determined by map, player population, world age, structures and mods. The ARK Official Community Wiki reports empty-map figures of about 8–10 GiB for The Island and 10.5–12 GiB for The Center; a populated or heavily modified world can use more.

CPU guidance

The same guidance recommends four logical cores per instance with strong single-thread performance. A high core count alone does not establish good simulation performance, and none of the provider listings supplies an independent CPU benchmark.

Practical sizing decisions

  • Use a plan close to the empty-map requirement only for a lightly populated, lightly modded test world.
  • Leave headroom for players, accumulated structures and mod overhead instead of sizing to the map’s empty baseline.
  • For a large PC community, compare the published 12 GB, 16 GB and 32 GB Apex tiers or ask another provider to state its guaranteed memory allocation.
  • If a provider sells only by slots, do not assume the slot number equals a guaranteed RAM amount; request the memory and CPU model before committing to a demanding mod pack.

Which plans support every official map and how do slot limits differ?

Map eligibility and player capacity are separate decisions. A lower slot count can still be adequate for your group, while an apparently inexpensive plan may omit the map you intend to play.

Plan or listing Published capacity Map coverage Important qualification
Nitrado 20-slot 1–20 players Astraeos and Lost Colony excluded $24.99 for 30 days in the captured listing
Nitrado all-map 1–26 players All maps listed by the tier $32.29 for 30 days in the captured listing
Survival Servers plans 10-slot and 20-slot listings shown All ten official maps Captured prices use a 25% first-month promotion
Apex RAM plans Capacity is presented by RAM Map and slot matrix not stated on the cited page Verify the slot allowance for your selected RAM tier

Always read the map selector during checkout. A provider can change which maps belong to a tier, and a plan name alone is not a guarantee that a newly released map is included.

How do CurseForge mods, FTP, RCON and clusters affect your choice?

Mod workflow determines how much time you spend maintaining the server after purchase.

CurseForge integration

Nitrado lists integrated CurseForge management, while Survival Servers advertises CurseForge mods and maps with automation. These options can simplify installation and updates compared with manually copying every file, but you still need to check mod versions and load order after an update.

FTP access

Survival Servers and Apex list FTP. FTP lets an administrator transfer configuration files, inspect logs and maintain custom content directly. Nitrado’s cited ASA listing does not state FTP access, so confirm the available file-management tools if direct editing is essential.

RCON and remote control

Survival Servers explicitly advertises RCON. That is useful for issuing commands and managing a live server without opening the game client, particularly when you operate scheduled restarts or several clustered maps.

Clusters

Survival Servers advertises clusters with separate saves per map. If your group wants travel between worlds, ask how transfers, backups and restores are handled across the cluster rather than assuming a single-map plan can be upgraded without migration work.

What backup and recovery features should you verify?

Backup frequency is meaningful only when paired with retention and a usable restore process.

  • Survival Servers: four backups per day, retained for six months, according to the listing.
  • Nitrado: the cited listing does not state a backup schedule or retention period; ask support for both before relying on the service.
  • Apex: automatic backups are advertised, but the cited page does not state cadence or retention.

Before inviting a large group, create a test restore or duplicate world if the panel supports it. Record the backup timestamp, verify that character and world data are present, and schedule maintenance for restores because a rollback can remove progress made after the selected snapshot.

How should you compare hosting prices?

Use standard recurring prices when they are published, and keep one-time or first-month promotions separate.

Provider and plan Published price Billing qualification
Nitrado 1–20 players $24.99 30-day listing; Astraeos and Lost Colony excluded
Nitrado 1–26 all-map $32.29 30-day listing; all-map tier
Survival Servers 10-slot and 20-slot Displayed listing includes 25% off First-month promotion; check renewal terms
Apex 12 GB $29.24 first month; $38.99 recurring RAM-based plan
Apex 16 GB $53.99 first month; $71.99 recurring RAM-based plan
Apex 32 GB $77.99 first month; $103.99 recurring RAM-based plan

Taxes, optional add-ons, extra storage and later price changes are not established by these figures. Treat every amount as the captured listing for its stated billing period, and confirm the checkout total and renewal amount in your region.

Should you self-host ASA on a VPS or dedicated server?

Self-hosting can make sense when you already administer Windows servers and need control over files, networking and security. It is not a shortcut to lower effort.

Minimum environment guidance

The ARK Official Community Wiki describes ASA as requiring Windows or a Windows-like environment. A September 24, 2026 setup guide recommends Windows 10 or newer or Windows Server 2019+, a modern quad-core CPU, at least 16 GB of memory for a populated server and 50 GB of free disk space.

Administration you must own

  • Install and patch the operating system and server software.
  • Configure firewall rules, ports and network routing.
  • Set up scheduled backups and verify that restores work.
  • Monitor memory, CPU, disk space and crash logs.
  • Apply mod and game updates in a controlled maintenance window.
  • Protect administrator credentials and the host against unauthorized access.

VPS and dedicated-server guidance also notes that map demands, slot pricing and location affect practical cost and performance. A cheap instance that lacks single-thread speed or memory headroom can be worse value than a managed plan.

How do location and latency claims affect the decision?

Choose a data center close to most players, but do not treat a provider’s ping widget as an independent benchmark. Nitrado publishes a broad region list, and Survival Servers advertises location switching, yet the available evidence contains no controlled measurements of gameplay latency, uptime or load behavior.

Ask prospective hosts which region will serve your group, whether the location can be changed after purchase, and whether changing it requires a migration or causes downtime. Test from the actual homes and networks your players use, because a single office connection cannot represent a geographically mixed group.

Is commercial ASA hosting legally straightforward?

Community documentation describes Nitrado as the exclusive commercial server host and discusses restrictions on commercial use without a Nitrado license. At the same time, current Survival Servers and Apex pages advertise ASA hosting. That is a licensing-status discrepancy, not proof that every competing offer is authorized or unauthorized.

Before paying, review the current commercial terms and ask the provider how its ASA service is licensed. Keep a copy of the answer and the terms that applied when you subscribed, especially if you charge players, run donations or operate a public community.

What is a safe setup sequence for a new ASA server?

Use this order to avoid inviting players before the world, map and recovery plan are ready.

  1. Confirm the platform mix. List Steam or PC, Xbox, PlayStation 5 and Game Pass players, then choose a plan whose crossplay wording explicitly covers everyone.
  2. Choose the map tier. Verify that the intended map, including Astraeos or Lost Colony if relevant, appears in the plan selector.
  3. Size memory and CPU. Account for the map’s empty baseline, expected population, structures and mods; do not size only to the advertised slot count.
  4. Select a region. Place the server near the largest player population and confirm whether relocation is possible later.
  5. Configure mods and settings. Add only ASA-compatible CurseForge content, set rates and rules, and document every change.
  6. Set restart and update windows. Use custom restarts where available and tell players when maintenance can occur.
  7. Test recovery. Make a backup, perform a restore or test-world recovery, and record the procedure.
  8. Invite a small test group. Check joining, character saves, transfers, mod downloads and console visibility before opening the server publicly.

What problems are most common and how can you fix them?

A console player cannot see the server

Recheck that the purchased tier explicitly lists the player’s platform and crossplay. Confirm that the player is using ASA rather than Evolved, because the two games do not share saved-game compatibility.

The desired map is missing

Check the plan’s map eligibility rather than changing settings repeatedly. On Nitrado, Astraeos and Lost Colony are excluded from the 20-slot listing but included in the 26-slot all-map listing.

Players experience crashes after a mod update

Disable the most recently changed mod, restore a known-good backup and reintroduce updates one at a time. Keep a written load order so you can identify the change that caused the failure.

The world outgrows the original plan

Review memory use, player count, structures and mod load before upgrading. Move to a larger RAM tier or plan with more headroom, and schedule the change during maintenance so you can preserve the latest backup.

A rollback is needed but no restore point is obvious

Identify the provider’s backup cadence and retention before an incident. If the panel does not clearly expose those details, ask support for the exact restore procedure and retention period while the server is healthy.

Final recommendation by use case

  • Pick Nitrado for the clearest documented PC, Xbox and PlayStation 5 crossplay, a managed panel and a choice between a 20-slot standard map tier and a 26-slot all-map tier.
  • Pick Survival Servers when FTP, RCON, clusters, per-map saves, location switching and four daily backups retained six months matter more than a simple panel.
  • Pick Apex Hosting when your community is primarily on PC and you want to compare 12 GB, 16 GB and 32 GB memory plans for a substantial mod load.
  • Self-host only when you are prepared to manage Windows, networking, security, updates and recovery yourself.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can an ARK: Survival Evolved world be imported into Survival Ascended?

No supported save compatibility is established between the two games. Plan for a fresh ASA world and preserve the original Evolved server separately if you still need it.

Are Survival Servers’ advertised prices permanent?

The captured 10-slot and 20-slot listings show a 25% first-month promotion. Treat the displayed amount as introductory and verify the renewal price before subscribing.

Can I move an ASA server to another data center later?

Survival Servers advertises location switching, but the practical migration steps and downtime are not specified in the listing. Ask whether the move preserves saves, player data and cluster links before requesting it.

Is Linux an officially documented self-hosting target for ASA?

The community guidance describes Windows or a Windows-like environment rather than promising support for every Linux distribution. If you choose a Linux-based image or compatibility layer, verify the server build and update path first.