Elden Ring Nightreign patch 1.01.1 (listed alongside Regulation Ver. 1.01.2) launched on June 2, 2025. Its biggest changes targeted single-player expeditions: an automatic revival can trigger once during each of the three nighttime boss battles, enemies award more runes, and high-rarity relic rewards improve for reaching day three and for buying Scenic Flatstone at the Small Jar Bazaar. The official notice does not publish the exact rune increase, relic percentages, or additional relic count. It also contains a long list of combat, relic-effect, graphics, connection, and platform fixes. This is an archived update rather than the current PlayStation version; a September 18, 2026 notice lists App Ver. 1.03.4 and Regulation Ver. 1.03.5 for PS4 and PS5.
What did Elden Ring Nightreign patch 1.01.1 change?
The June 2, 2025 update made solo expeditions more forgiving and more rewarding while correcting a broad set of combat and stability problems. The official announcement names the effects but not their numerical values, so claims about a specific multiplier, percentage chance, or guaranteed rarity would go beyond the published information.
| Change | Scope | What the notice confirms |
|---|---|---|
| Automatic revival | Single-player | Activates at most once in each nighttime boss fight; it has the same effect as Wending Grace. |
| Enemy rune rewards | Single-player | Enemies give more runes; no amount or multiplier is stated. |
| Day-three relic rewards | Expedition rewards | The number of high-rarity relics among rewards for reaching day three was increased; no count or guaranteed tier is stated. |
| Scenic Flatstone | Small Jar Bazaar | The chance of obtaining high-rarity relics was increased; no probability is stated. |
| Relic-effect bug | Expedition rewards and Scenic Flatstone | Fixed an issue that made some effects less likely to be applied to relics. |
The first four rows are balance adjustments. The relic-effect correction is separate: it changes how certain effects are distributed on obtained relics, not the published rarity odds.
Read the official 1.01.1 announcement for the publisher’s full wording. The notice is in Japanese; the skill and effect names below use clear English renderings and may appear differently in another game language.
How does the single-player self revive work?
The automatic revival is limited to solo play and to the nighttime boss encounters. When a single-player character is defeated during one of those fights, the special effect can revive the character automatically, with the same effect described for Wending Grace.
How many times can it activate?
It can activate at most once in each of the three nighttime boss battles. That is a per-boss limit, not one revive for the entire expedition and not an unlimited effect. The notice does not extend the effect to multiplayer or to ordinary deaths outside those boss fights.
What the patch note does not say
- It does not publish a duration, animation timing, health amount, or item-consumption rule beyond saying the effect is equivalent to Wending Grace.
- It does not promise that a revive will trigger after every defeat; “at most once” describes the cap, not a guaranteed activation in every circumstance.
- It does not change the separate rules for cooperative expeditions.
How many more runes does 1.01.1 give you?
Patch 1.01.1 increases rune rewards from enemies in single-player expeditions. The official announcement gives no multiplier, percentage, enemy-by-enemy table, or before-and-after example, so the only defensible conclusion is that solo enemy payouts are higher than before.
The scope matters when comparing your results. The note specifically says the adjustment applies to single-player; it does not state an equivalent increase for multiplayer. Your rune total can also vary with the enemies encountered and the route taken, so one run is not evidence of a fixed universal bonus.
What relic rewards became better?
Two reward systems were adjusted: the relic bundle awarded for reaching day three and Scenic Flatstone purchases from the Small Jar Bazaar. Both changes target high-rarity outcomes, but the announcement does not disclose exact counts or odds.
Day-three expedition rewards
The number of high-rarity relics available among the rewards for reaching day three was increased. “Increased” does not mean every day-three clear guarantees a particular rarity, and the notice does not identify the former or new number of relics.
Scenic Flatstone at the Small Jar Bazaar
The chance that a Scenic Flatstone produces a high-rarity relic was raised. Scenic Flatstone remains a Bazaar purchase; the update changes the chance of the result, not the fact that the item is obtained through that shop. No published percentage lets you calculate an expected number of purchases.
Relic effects versus relic rarity
A related bug fix made some effects less likely to appear on relics from expedition rewards or Scenic Flatstone. This is a distribution correction. It should not be read as another increase to the relic’s rarity tier, and the patch notes provide no effect-by-effect probability table.
How do I install 1.01.1 and verify the version?
The announcement covers PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, and Steam. Online play required applying the update and receiving the latest regulation data.
- Start Nightreign and reach the title screen.
- Check the version labels shown there. The patch is displayed as App Ver. 1.01.1; its associated regulation data is Regulation Ver. 1.01.2.
- On PlayStation or Xbox, connect to the game server from the title screen so the latest regulation is downloaded.
- If the lower-right corner says OFFLINE, select LOGIN from the title menu, then allow the connection and update process to finish.
- Restart the game if prompted and confirm that the title screen shows the expected application and regulation versions.
Version labels are separate: seeing 1.01.1 refers to the application, while 1.01.2 refers to regulation data. A mismatch can therefore be normal during an update process; use the title-screen labels rather than treating the two numbers as one combined version.
Is 1.01.1 still the current Nightreign version?
No. It is a historical June 2025 update. The official site lists a later September 18, 2026 update for PS4 and PS5 with App Ver. 1.03.4 and Regulation Ver. 1.03.5, described as a network-security enhancement.
| Notice | Platforms explicitly named | Application version | Regulation version | Purpose or date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 2, 2025 patch | PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Steam | 1.01.1 | 1.01.2 | Solo balance changes and broad fixes |
| September 18, 2026 update | PS4 and PS5 | 1.03.4 | 1.03.5 | Network-security enhancement |
The later notice is specifically for PS4 and PS5. It should not be presented as the current Xbox or Steam version. For those platforms, check the platform’s own update information and the version shown on your title screen.
See the official September 18, 2026 PS4/PS5 notice.
Which combat and character bugs were fixed?
The same 1.01.1 notice lists many targeted corrections. These are fixes to behavior, damage, status buildup, visuals, or displayed information rather than new balance features.
Character skills, weapons, and status effects
- Adjusted camera behavior when Guardian activates Wings of Salvation.
- Fixed status buildup from other players’ attacks sometimes failing to trigger a status effect during Lady’s Reprise.
- Fixed some greataxe and great hammer attacks dealing more damage than intended for Raider.
- Fixed Holy Blade causing Those Who Live in Death to revive after being defeated.
- Fixed Blood Blade failing to build up hemorrhage when its attack hit an enemy.
- Fixed Flame of the Redmanes failing to produce an attack in certain situations.
- Fixed Moonlight Greatsword heavy-attack waves failing to build up frostbite while the skill effect was active.
- Fixed Mighty Shot and Enchanted Shot arrows traveling slower than intended.
- Fixed Rock Sling having longer-than-intended range when used with a staff in the left hand.
- Fixed Black Blade failing to reduce an enemy’s maximum HP on hit.
- Fixed a repeated defensive-affinity effect stacking when attack chains were restarted while the effect was active.
- Corrected displayed values for some passive effects.
- Fixed the Guardian relic effect that draws enemy attention during the ability failing to activate under certain inputs.
Enemy behavior, presentation, and text
- Fixed enemy behavior and instability issues during certain fights.
- Corrected graphics issues during certain fights.
- Corrected some credits and text.
- Fixed sound effects that did not play correctly.
The notice does not identify every affected enemy, encounter, or platform for these fixes, so they should not be expanded into a claim that every combat interaction was changed.
What platform and connection problems did the patch address?
Several fixes concern expedition flow and platform-specific failures, including problems that could prevent a run from starting or reconnecting.
- Fixed issues on some platforms involving the Tracker’s Remembrance exit effect.
- Fixed missing HUD elements.
- Fixed crashes.
- Fixed expedition-launch failures.
- Fixed session-reconnection failures.
- Fixed background-music playback problems.
PC-only fixes
- Fixed some graphics rendering incorrectly when Low was selected under Graphics Quality.
- Fixed keyboard climbing sometimes failing.
- Improved gamepad climbing, which could be difficult to perform.
These PC corrections are separate from the solo balance changes. A PC player can receive the combat and expedition fixes without assuming that the console-only or console-listed connection behavior applies identically to every setup.
What should solo players do after updating?
Use the changes as practical safety nets rather than as a reason to change every build. The revive is tied to nighttime bosses, so it is most valuable when planning a difficult encounter; it does not protect against routine losses earlier in the expedition. Extra enemy runes make solo routing somewhat more rewarding, while the improved day-three and Scenic Flatstone outcomes give you more reasons to complete an expedition or spend at the Bazaar.
- Verify the title-screen application and regulation labels before troubleshooting online access.
- When testing the revive, track each nighttime boss separately; the limit resets for the next nighttime boss, not after an arbitrary number of defeats.
- Do not calculate a precise rune or relic return from the patch note alone, because no official multiplier, count, or probability is supplied.
- Distinguish a relic’s rarity from the effect rolled on it when evaluating the reward changes.
- If an old guide calls 1.01.1 the current version, compare its date and platform scope with the later official notices.
Can I play Nightreign without owning the original Elden Ring?
Yes. The official product page says Nightreign can be played without owning the original ELDEN RING. Its packaged editions are listed for PS5 and PS4; that product information is separate from the requirements for downloading a digital update.
Check the official product information for the publisher’s edition and ownership details.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the 1.01.1 automatic revive work in multiplayer?
The published note limits the effect to single-player characters and the three nighttime boss fights. It does not announce a cooperative version, so multiplayer players should not assume that teammates receive the same protection.
Did the patch publish exact rune multipliers or relic drop rates?
No. The announcement states only that solo enemy rune rewards increased and that high-rarity relic outcomes improved for day-three rewards and Scenic Flatstone; it gives no percentage, multiplier, or count.
Why can a relic have a better effect without being a higher rarity?
Rarity and effect assignment are different parts of the reward process. The patch raised certain high-rarity outcomes and separately fixed a bug that reduced the likelihood of some effects appearing on relics.
Can I treat the September 2026 version as the Xbox or Steam equivalent of 1.03.4?
No. The cited September 18, 2026 notice names PS4 and PS5 only. Xbox and Steam players should rely on their own title-screen version and platform-specific notices.
Is buying the game required just to apply patch 1.01.1?
You need an installed copy of Nightreign to receive an update, but the patch itself is not a separate purchase. The official product page also states that owning the original ELDEN RING is not required to play Nightreign.