VGKAMI
Advertise Get listed

Game Guides

Escape from Tarkov Zombies: Spawn, Damage, Virus, and Loot Rules

Published 11 min read

Escape from Tarkov’s 2026 zombies are a temporary Halloween infection layer, not a permanent AI faction. Patch 1.3.0.0 added the outbreak on 29 October 2026. Infected now appear on ordinary maps at the displayed infection level, while separate Infected Lab and Infected Factory queues concentrate the densest waves, add Infected Tagilla, and disable insurance. A hit can apply Virus, causing brief hearing loss and hydration drain; ordinary stimulants do not remove it, and extraction or death is required. There is no official 2026 health table or per-zombie loot table, so plan around crowd control, ammunition volume, pumpkins, quest items and extract keys rather than guaranteed body drops.

How do Tarkov zombies spawn in the 2026 Halloween event?

The outbreak began with patch 1.3.0.0 on 29 October 2026. Battlestate Games describes it as “A dangerous virus [that] has broken out across Tarkov, triggering a mass outbreak of the aggressive infected.” The event is live as of early November, but Battlestate has not announced an end date.

Infection is a map modifier

Open the raid-location selection screen and check each map’s infection or biohazard indicator. The tracker shows how strongly the disease has affected that location. Day-one 2026 reports found moderate or medium indicators on the regular map list, with Icebreaker, ordinary Factory and ordinary Labs presented differently from the event queues. A separate Halloween tab contains Infected Factory and Infected Lab at high biohazard. The earlier public tracker at escapefromtarkov.com/halloween illustrated the same outbreak concept in 2024, but the 2026 client displays the status directly.

The exact 2026 percentage for each map, and whether values continue to ramp during the event, has not been published. Treat the icon on your current queue card as the authoritative status instead of importing a percentage from a 2024 guide.

Which infected types appear?

The official 2026 wiki names three visual classes: infected civilian, infected lab technician and infected PMC. They can attack with hands, knives or pistols. Battlestate adds behavior categories—fast, slow and ranged infected—with more distinctive behavior and surprise attacks than the earlier event. Reports also describe occasional infected rifle users, but the press release’s formal ranged category is the safer description.

Infected Black Division operatives have appeared in the 2026 outbreak. Infected Tagilla, carrying the Old hand scythe, is currently scoped by the wiki to Infected Factory and Infected Lab. The press release says he “returns to raids” without promising ordinary-map appearances, so do not assume every Factory or Streets raid can roll him.

Why can a raid become crowded immediately?

Infected are loud-aggro enemies. Gunfire attracts them, and one alerted group can pull a chain from nearby spawn areas. A 2024 retrospective described players fighting one or two infected on loading in, then drawing a train of roughly 25 within about 30 seconds. That is historical context, not a 2026 spawn count, but it explains why a suppressed first shot and controlled movement matter. Day-one Labs footage called the 2026 density roughly ten times harder than the earlier event.

Single-player Tarkov recreations of 2024 found wave-generated bot types named infectedCivil, infectedLaborant and infectedPmc, and identified a configuration value that converted a share of ordinary scav spawns. Those recreations are reverse-engineering of the 2024 event, not 2026 patch documentation.

What is different about ordinary maps, Infected Lab and Infected Factory?

Use ordinary maps when you want the quarantine quests with a recoverable kit. Use the dedicated infected queues when you need their concentrated enemies or quest objectives, accepting that insurance will not return your equipment.

Queue Infection and access Known enemies Insurance Important extraction or timing rules
Regular maps Moderate or medium indicators were reported on most locations; status is shown on the raid-selection screen Infected classes mixed with the map’s normal AI; exact 2026 rates are unpublished Normal insurance rules apply Use the ordinary map’s extracts and quest rules
Infected Lab Separate high-biohazard event queue; TerraGroup Labs access keycard still required Infected and Infected Tagilla Disabled; traders send recovery messages but do not return the equipment 30-minute raid, 8–10 PMC players according to the 2026 wiki; Parking needs car keys, Sewage Conduit needs a Collector map; lights are off and doors are unlocked
Infected Factory Separate contaminated Factory queue; outside area is blocked Infected and Infected Tagilla Disabled Gate 3 and Gate 0 are listed as always available for all factions

Battlestate calls both special locations available only to small groups. The announcement does not define that phrase numerically; read the in-game queue card for current party and player limits.

How much health do Tarkov zombies have?

There is no official 2026 per-type health, armor or damage table from Battlestate or the official wiki. Do not treat a community hit count as a guaranteed breakpoint. The normal Tagilla boss table—Head 100, Thorax 320, Stomach 260, each arm 130, each leg 140, 1,220 total—is not an Infected Tagilla table.

Community reports from the first 2026 raids consistently describe headshots as the practical kill route, but not one-tap kills. One report said several cranial hits were required and found no clear advantage for flesh ammunition over high-penetration ammunition in two Labs raids. The same report recorded about 115 hits to kill roughly 15 infected with a 100-round-capacity RPD setup, illustrating ammunition demand rather than a universal health value.

2024 players reported three broad health tiers, unarmoured targets that could absorb full upper-body magazines, and targets requiring multiple headshots. Flesh or hollow-point ammunition and leg shots became popular because the infected were generally unarmoured. That experience is useful for choosing a high-volume loadout, but it is not evidence of a published 2026 stat block.

What damage do infected deal, and how does Virus work?

Melee, pistols and special attacks

Civilians, technicians and PMCs use hands or knives; some infected use pistols, and the event recognizes a ranged behavior type. Infected Tagilla uses the Old hand scythe, listed at 293 Chop damage, 415 Stab damage and 1.2 metres of effective distance. The scythe itself is not lootable from Tagilla. A normal scythe hit can also produce a tinnitus or muffled-audio status for about 20 seconds according to wiki notes.

Older guides emphasize heavy bleeding from repeated melee hits. The 2026 official notes do not restate a guaranteed armor-penetrating bleed rule, so carry extra hemostatic supplies rather than assuming armor will prevent every bleed. Black Division and Tagilla are more dangerous than unarmoured rushers and justify better protection if you choose to fight them.

Virus is not a stim-cleared debuff

The official event note says, “Getting too close to them and getting hit has a chance to grant the Virus effect, which removes hearing for a brief moment and reduces hydration.” It also says, “The effect is only removed upon extraction or death.” Day-one reports describe additional vision disruption and minor damage, and found that Perforatum (Propital) and eTG-c did not clear it. A water stack and a safe extraction route are therefore more useful than spending your medical drugs trying to purge Virus in raid.

Sound controls the fight

Suppressed weapons reduce the chance that every nearby group converges on your position. Grenades can distract or split a wave, but they are not a substitute for a reliable primary weapon. Fire in short, deliberate strings, reposition after a kill, and have one teammate create controlled noise while another clears the approach when your squad can coordinate.

How do you kill infected efficiently?

Bring enough ammunition and medical supplies for a prolonged fight. A practical sequence is:

  1. Choose a high-capacity primary. Drum magazines or a belt-fed platform reduce the reload windows that let a wave surround you. The 2026 reports emphasize volume more than a particular caliber.
  2. Suppress the gun. Noise is the main aggro engine. Suppression does not make you invisible, but it slows the rate at which distant groups join the fight.
  3. Prioritize the head. Expect multiple cranial hits and keep firing until the target is confirmed down. Do not budget ammunition on the assumption that every headshot is a one-tap.
  4. Keep a retreat lane. Avoid backing into doors, stairwells or dead ends. The infected’s speed and surprise attacks punish a blocked escape route.
  5. Use grenades to buy space. Throw them to break a rush or move a group, then finish with the primary. Grenades alone are an expensive way to clear a dense wave.
  6. Pack for the aftermath. Carry extra bleed treatment and water. Virus-related hydration loss plus repeated melee hits can exhaust a normal medical stack before the extract.

Flesh-damage ammunition remains a sensible option against the historically unarmoured 2024 infected, and the Skier quest reward includes SuperFormance HP 12-gauge slugs. However, 2026 reports have not established a flesh-versus-AP advantage, so magazine capacity and total rounds should decide your loadout before theoretical penetration figures.

Can you loot zombies in Tarkov?

There is no published 2026 infected-body loot table. Day-one Labs footage showed a downed infected with no loot prompt, while earlier events allowed some infected PMCs or technicians to be searched. Treat a corpse as unverified until the game gives you a search interaction; do not enter an uninsured queue expecting every kill to pay for the raid.

Pumpkin with sweets

Pumpkins are the reliable event container. They can spawn across maps, weigh 3 kg, occupy a 2×2 grid and cannot be sold on the Flea Market. After the raid, right-click and unpack one to receive the random contents, then discard the emptied container. Published 2024 coverage listed sweets, crafting materials, ammunition and weapons among possible contents; the current wiki describes the table simply as random surprises.

One pumpkin can be sacrificed in the Cultist Circle. The unique craft takes 1 hour 6 minutes and produces the Jack-o’-lantern tactical pumpkin helmet: 1.2 kg, armor class 2, 40 durability, UHMWPE, with coverage for the face, head top, nape, ears, eyes, jaws, throat and back of neck. The pumpkin was introduced for Halloween 2022, while the helmet dates to 2017.

Useful items in the infected queues

Infected Lab’s Parking extract requires car keys. Wiki examples place keys in the rounded Recreation Area conference room. Sewage Conduit requires a Collector map; examples include a PMC corpse in the servers room and the same conference room. These are functional extraction items, not guaranteed zombie drops.

Which Halloween quests provide documented loot?

The 2026 chain gives more dependable rewards than searching infected bodies. Quest objectives and rewards listed by the 2026 wiki include:

Quest Objective Documented rewards
Halloween: Rumors — Skier Visit Infected Factory and eliminate 10 infected +26,000 EXP; 1,800 Euros; one MPS Auto Assault-12 Gen 2 from TeraGroup Labs; three AA-12 20-round drums; four packs of 12/70 SuperFormance HP slugs, 25 each
Halloween: The Best Defense — Skier Visit Infected Lab and eliminate 10 infected; optional survival/extraction and special extract-item objective +36,000 EXP; 2,700 Euros; one Norinco QBZ-191; three QBZ-191 30-round magazines; four packs of 5.8×42mm DBX95 ammunition, 30 each
Halloween: Follow-Up Examination — Therapist Find a scientist in a hazmat suit who died from the virus, open the body with consumed Medical tools and recover the blood sample +40,000 EXP; two TerraGroup Labs access keycards; two Adrenaline; two Trimadol
Halloween: Initial Examination — Therapist Recover the TG-VI-26 vaccine batch in Lighthouse Water Treatment Plant Building No. 3, second floor; the item is Find in Raid and is lost on death +38,000 EXP; 200,000 Roubles, or 210,000/230,000 with Intelligence Center level 1/2; one Document case

For Follow-Up Examination, the scientist can appear in the Infected Lab sewage-conduit tunnel, at the intersection near the blue-keycard room or in the middle of the working area. Factory examples are outside the medical labs and on tanks by the pumping station. Therapist’s dialogue specifies that the body must be someone who died from the virus naturally, not a target you killed yourself.

The vaccine quest creates a trader fork. Handing TG-VI-26 to Therapist for Initial Examination prevents the Skier stash route, and choosing the Skier route fails the Therapist hand-in. Decide before turning it in.

How should you prepare for Infected Lab and Infected Factory?

  • Enter with a throwaway mindset: both special maps disable insurance.
  • Bring a Labs access keycard for Infected Lab, night vision for its unlit interior and the correct car keys or Collector map for your planned extract.
  • Carry Medical tools if Follow-Up Examination is active; the interaction consumes them and leaves you stationary under pressure.
  • Use high-capacity magazines, a suppressor, spare bleed treatment and extra water.
  • Consider a squad for the scientist interaction and for dividing noise, but verify the current queue card because the official “small groups” wording does not state a universal party cap.
  • Do not rely on a 2024 guide’s alcohol-friendship trick. The 2026 event documentation does not restore vodka, whiskey or moonshine as a way to befriend infected.

What changed from the 2024 Halloween zombie event?

The earlier event is a useful warning about pacing, but its rules should not be copied into 2026.

Axis Halloween 2024 Halloween 2026
Special locations Labs opened without a keycard and gained a containment block Infected Lab and Infected Factory use a separate event tab; Infected Lab still needs a keycard
Tagilla Infected Tagilla with a scythe roamed all maps Current wiki scope is Infected Factory and Infected Lab
Scav attitude Scavs and bosses were friendly unless provoked That friendliness is not documented; player Scavs receive no karma penalty for killing Scavs
Player-Scav trick Two vodka, whiskey or moonshine could be used to befriend infected Not documented for 2026
Virus Hit-based effect removed by extraction or death Chance on hit; extraction or death still removes it
Quest structure 23 limited-time quests New chain including Rumors, The Best Defense, Follow-Up Examination and Initial Examination

Halloween start dates were 27 October 2022, 26 October 2023, 31 October 2024, 22 October 2025 and 29 October 2026. Those dates show the seasonal pattern, not a promised 2026 closing date.

What remains unconfirmed?

Battlestate and the official wiki have not supplied 2026 infected HP pools, armor values, damage tables, a per-body loot table, exact per-map infection percentages, an event end date or a universal squad-size cap for the special queues. Whether Infected Tagilla can be added to ordinary maps by a later hotfix is also unresolved. Build your plan around the mechanics visible in your current client and the rewards explicitly listed for the active quests.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the 5 November 2026 date the end of the Tarkov zombie event?

No. 5 November is the published window associated with Arena’s CheckPoint: Bloodlust mode, which has separate 5v5 rules and progression bonuses. It is not an announced closing date for the main-game infected queues.

Can I complete Follow-Up Examination alone?

The quest does not state that a squad is mandatory, but the map’s party rules are not fully defined in the announcement. A solo player should follow the current Infected Lab or Factory queue card and remember that using Medical tools requires a stationary interaction while infected can continue attacking.

Why do my healing stims not remove Virus?

Virus is designed as an extraction-or-death status, not a normal stimulant-cleared injury. Stims can still treat other wounds, but they do not replace water, bleed supplies or a route to an extract.

Should I insure gear before entering an infected map?

No. Battlestate explicitly disables insurance on Infected Lab and Infected Factory. The post-raid trader message may say that recovery failed, but it is not a payout and should not change the throwaway-kit calculation.