Fortnite Winterfest 2024 ran from the event’s announced live date of December 20, 2024, until January 7, 2025, at 9 AM ET. Epic Games did not publish a separate launch-clock time in its announcement; it described Winterfest as live when the announcement was posted. During the event, players opened one present per day from the Winterfest Cabin, earned bonus XP by watching the cabin fire, completed Sgt. Winter’s Wintervestigation quests, and found temporary winter gameplay items in Chests. The event has ended, so the cabin, daily presents and event-specific island features are no longer active as a current activity. Optional Item Shop cosmetics were a separate purchase track and were not required to participate.
When did Fortnite Winterfest 2024 start and end?
Epic Games’ official announcement, published December 20, 2024, said Winterfest was live and would continue until January 7, 2025, at 9 AM ET. That gives December 20 as the announced live-date context rather than a separately stated launch time. If you were converting the end time for another region, you needed to account for Eastern Time and the date in your own location; the announcement itself did not provide a regional conversion.
Because the closing time has passed, Winterfest 2024 is a historical event. The Snowflake tab, daily cabin presents and Winterfest gameplay additions described below should not be treated as features currently available in Fortnite. The dated schedule is also important when interpreting older guides: instructions to open a present “today” applied only during that event window.
How did the Winterfest Cabin work?
The Winterfest Cabin returned as the event’s central free activity. From the Lobby of any Fortnite experience, players opened the Snowflake tab to reach the cabin. Epic said players could open a new present each day through the end of the event, with presents stopping when Winterfest ended on January 7.
Accessing the cabin during the event
- Open Fortnite and reach the Lobby for any experience.
- Select the Snowflake tab in the Lobby.
- Enter the Winterfest Cabin and choose the available present for that day.
- Return on later event days to open another present while the event remained live.
The announcement establishes the daily-present schedule but does not specify a separate daily reset hour, a catch-up rule for missed days, or a post-event grace period. Those details should not be inferred from the phrase “each day.” The safe historical reading is that presents were available during the stated event period and stopped being available at the published end time.
What could Winterfest presents contain?
Epic described the presents as containing festive digital cosmetics and other in-game items. The named categories included Outfits, Back Blings, Pickaxes and Gliders, along with additional items. The cabin therefore offered a way to collect event rewards through play rather than by buying a listed Item Shop bundle.
- Outfits: character cosmetics that changed the player’s appearance.
- Back Blings: cosmetic back accessories paired with an Outfit or used separately where supported.
- Pickaxes: harvesting-tool cosmetics.
- Gliders: skydiving cosmetics used when deploying from the Battle Bus or another launch.
- Other items: Epic did not provide a complete category list in the announcement, so every present should not be assumed to fit one of the four named groups.
Epic also made an important availability qualification: “All of the items inside presents are not exclusive to Winterfest 2024, as they may become purchasable in the Shop at a later date.” That statement described a possibility, not a promise that every item would return or that any particular item is available now. It also means a present item should not be advertised as permanently exclusive to the 2024 event.
Could you earn XP without opening presents?
Yes. Players who were not interested in the cabin’s presents could watch the fire in the Winterfest Cabin and earn bonus XP. This made the cabin useful even when a player did not want a cosmetic reward or had already decided not to collect the available presents.
The fire activity was separate from the Item Shop. It did not require purchasing one of the event-themed outfits or bundles, and Epic’s announcement did not identify a physical product, pass or paid accessory as a requirement for accessing the cabin or its XP activity.
What changed on the Battle Royale island?
Winterfest added snowy conditions to certain parts of the Battle Royale island. Epic associated the snowfall with Mariah Carey and said players could encounter snowfall during the event. The weather change was paired with two temporary gameplay items that could appear in Chests until Winterfest ended.
Blizzard Grenades
A Blizzard Grenade swept affected opponents into a blizzard. Epic’s description gave it two direct combat effects: it slowed movement and dealt damage to opponents caught in the affected area. The announcement does not state a damage value, duration, rarity or carrying limit, so those specifications should not be added to a historical guide as if they were confirmed by Epic’s event announcement.
Icy Feet
Icy Feet enabled very fast movement, including movement over water. That made it a mobility-focused event effect rather than simply a visual snow condition. Like Blizzard Grenades, Icy Feet could be found in Chests only during the event period described by Epic; the announcement did not say that either item would remain in the standard loot pool afterward.
What the snow did—and did not—mean
Snowfall and the temporary items were Battle Royale gameplay features, while the Cabin was accessed through the Lobby’s Snowflake tab. A player could participate in the cabin activity without treating the snowy island as a requirement, and buying an Item Shop cosmetic did not grant a special right to use either gameplay item.
What were Sgt. Winter’s Wintervestigation quests?
Sgt. Winter assigned the Wintervestigation quests during Winterfest 2024. Epic said each completed quest awarded XP. The announcement does not publish a complete quest list, objective sequence or total XP amount, so the confirmed benefit is the XP reward attached to completing the quests rather than a stated cumulative total.
These quests gave players another progression route alongside opening presents and using the cabin fire. A player focused on account progression could therefore combine daily cabin activity with quest completion instead of relying on cosmetic collection alone.
Were Winterfest features available in tournaments?
No. Epic specifically said that all gameplay features introduced for this Winterfest would be excluded from tournaments. That qualification covered the event’s introduced gameplay elements, such as its temporary island items, rather than changing the event’s availability in ordinary Fortnite play.
For competitive players, this distinction mattered: seeing a Blizzard Grenade or Icy Feet in a regular match did not imply that the same feature could be used in a tournament. Epic’s announcement did not provide a separate tournament ruleset or list individual competitive playlists, so the broad exclusion is the supported rule.
How did free cabin participation differ from Item Shop purchases?
Winterfest had two separate ways to engage with its theme. The cabin was an in-game event feature with daily presents and bonus XP, while the Item Shop offered optional digital cosmetics and bundles. The announcement does not say that a Battle Pass, bundle or purchase was needed to enter the cabin, open presents or complete Winterfest quests.
| Question | Winterfest Cabin | Item Shop |
|---|---|---|
| How was it accessed? | Through the Snowflake tab in the Lobby of any Fortnite experience. | Through Fortnite’s Item Shop during the period a listing was offered. |
| What did it provide? | Daily presents containing possible Outfits, Back Blings, Pickaxes, Gliders and other items; the cabin fire also awarded bonus XP. | Named digital cosmetics and bundles presented as shop offerings. |
| Was spending required? | No purchase requirement was stated for cabin participation or the fire XP activity. | These were optional paid digital offerings; the announcement does not establish a purchase price for each listing. |
| Was content exclusive? | No. Epic said items inside presents were not exclusive to Winterfest 2024 and might become purchasable later. | Shop availability was tied to the listing period, and the announcement does not confirm current availability. |
| Examples named by Epic | Festive presents and the XP-producing cabin fire. | Mariah Carey, Santa Shaq, Guffmas Tree, Snowy Ops, and Snoop Dogg | Cadillac offerings. |
The named Item Shop offerings were not evidence of a physical product or a separate entry ticket for Winterfest. They were digital Fortnite content described separately from the cabin’s presents and XP activity.
What would a sensible daily Winterfest routine have been?
During the live event, a player trying to collect the available benefits could use a short routine that kept the two reward tracks separate.
- Check the event window. Confirm that the calendar date was between the announced live date and January 7, 2025, at 9 AM ET. After that closing time, the event should be treated as finished.
- Open the Snowflake tab. From the Lobby of any Fortnite experience, enter the Winterfest Cabin rather than searching the Item Shop for the daily present.
- Claim the available daily present. Choose the new present offered for that day. Epic’s announcement does not document a missed-day catch-up system, so players should not assume that waiting would preserve every earlier opening.
- Use the cabin fire for bonus XP. Players who did not want the available cosmetics could still use the fire activity for its stated XP benefit.
- Complete Wintervestigation quests. Speak with or follow Sgt. Winter’s quest activity and complete objectives for the XP reward Epic attached to each completed quest.
- Play ordinary Battle Royale matches for event items. During the event, check Chests for Blizzard Grenades and Icy Feet, while remembering that Epic excluded Winterfest gameplay features from tournaments.
- Treat shop cosmetics as optional. Review Item Shop listings only if a particular paid cosmetic was wanted; a shop purchase was not presented as a prerequisite for the cabin or quests.
What should returning players know about availability now?
Winterfest 2024 cannot be started again as a current event because its published end time was January 7, 2025, at 9 AM ET. The cabin’s daily-present schedule, the fire’s event activity, Sgt. Winter’s Wintervestigation quests and the temporary Chest items all belonged to that dated event window.
Some cabin-present items could potentially appear in the Item Shop later, but Epic’s wording was deliberately conditional. It did not confirm that a particular Outfit, Back Bling, Pickaxe or Glider returned, nor does the announcement establish what is listed in the shop now. A current availability claim therefore needs a current in-game listing rather than the 2024 event announcement.
Common Winterfest 2024 misunderstandings
Confusing the announcement date with a precise launch hour
December 20 was the date Epic published its announcement and described Winterfest as live. It was not presented as a separate launch-clock time, so guides should not convert it into an unsupported hourly start.
Assuming every winter-themed cosmetic came from the cabin
The cabin presents and Item Shop offerings were separate. Mariah Carey, Santa Shaq, Guffmas Tree, Snowy Ops and Snoop Dogg | Cadillac were named as shop content, not as a complete list of cabin presents.
Calling cabin items permanently exclusive
Epic expressly warned that items inside presents were not exclusive to Winterfest 2024 and might become purchasable in the Shop later. “Might” is the key qualification: it does not guarantee a return date or current stock.
Expecting event items in tournaments
Epic excluded all gameplay features introduced for this Winterfest from tournaments. Regular Battle Royale availability and competitive availability were therefore not the same thing.
Why Winterfest 2024 mattered to players
The event combined low-commitment rewards with optional match gameplay. A player could log in for a daily present, use the cabin fire for bonus XP, pursue Sgt. Winter’s quests or ignore the cosmetics and simply continue playing. Meanwhile, snowy island areas and Chest-based Blizzard Grenades and Icy Feet changed ordinary matches without being carried into tournaments.
That combination also explains why the event is best understood as more than a shop promotion. Its defining systems were the Snowflake-tab cabin, daily presents, fire XP, Wintervestigation quests and temporary Battle Royale items. The Item Shop complemented that experience with paid digital cosmetics, but it was not the gateway to Winterfest itself.
Frequently Asked Questions
Was there a separate Fortnite Winterfest 2024 launch time?
Epic’s December 20, 2024 announcement said Winterfest was live, but it did not publish a distinct launch-clock time. December 20 should therefore be cited as the announced live-date context, not as an officially stated hour.
Could missed Winterfest presents be opened after January 7?
The announcement says players could open a new present each day through the event’s end and that presents stopped being available on January 7, 2025, at 9 AM ET. It does not describe a catch-up period or late-claim policy, so no post-event claim window is established.
Did I need to buy a Fortnite cosmetic to participate in Winterfest?
No purchase requirement is stated for entering the cabin, opening presents, watching its fire for bonus XP or completing Wintervestigation quests. Item Shop cosmetics were presented as a separate, optional digital offering.
Are Winterfest 2024 cabin items available in the Item Shop now?
Epic said cabin-present items were not exclusive and might become purchasable later. That was a possibility rather than confirmation of a return, so current availability must be checked in Fortnite’s present-day Item Shop.