VGKAMI
Advertise Get listed

Game Guides

GTA 6 Insider Debunks Claims That Story Campaign Is 100 Hours Long

Published 8 min read

No—there is no verified evidence that Grand Theft Auto VI’s story campaign lasts 100 hours. The number came from a Reddit interpretation of a comment by gaming creator Kiwi Talkz, who later said the remark was about how long it would take him personally to finish the game because he is busy. Rockstar has not published an official campaign-length figure. A separate report says Rockstar North co-studio head Rob Nelson spent about 80 hours playing a non-final build that covered the main story and some optional goals, but that was his individual run—not a specification for every player.

Is GTA 6 really a 100-hour story game?

The 100-hour campaign claim was debunked as a misreading. It is not an announced Rockstar figure, a leaked development specification, or a confirmed estimate of the main story. The available evidence supports only two narrower points: Kiwi Talkz was discussing his own schedule, and Rockstar has not stated how many hours the finished campaign should take.

The rumor began when a Reddit post treated Kiwi Talkz’s comment that GTA 6 would take him a “long time” as if it described the game’s runtime. The post circulated through gaming-leak communities and on X before moderators removed it. That interpretation changed a personal time constraint into a supposed campaign measurement.

Kiwi Talkz directly rejected that reading, saying: “People just post anything I say… They just seem to think everything I say is a leak.” His correction is the basis for calling the 100-hour number unsupported speculation rather than an insider-confirmed detail.

Did the insider say GTA 6 is 100 hours long?

No. Kiwi Talkz did not say that the single-player campaign takes 100 hours. His “long time” remark referred to the amount of time he would need, given his own commitments, not to a measured playthrough or a target set by Rockstar.

That distinction matters because a personal schedule is not the same thing as a game-length estimate. Someone who plays intermittently, explores extensively, records content, or has limited free time can take much longer than someone focused on story missions. Without a stated number of completed missions, difficulty, route, or play style, the comment could not establish a runtime in the first place.

How the rumor spread

  1. A social-media or community remark about taking a long time to finish GTA 6 was detached from its personal context.
  2. A Reddit post reframed it as a claim that the campaign itself was 100 hours.
  3. The interpretation spread through leak-focused communities and X.
  4. Moderators removed the post, and Kiwi Talkz clarified what he meant.

The correction does not reveal the real length of GTA 6. It only removes the 100-hour claim from the category of credible runtime information.

What does the 80-hour GTA 6 playthrough mean?

Insider Gaming reported on August 27, 2026, that Rob Nelson, Rockstar North’s co-studio head, played a build in February 2026 for about 80 hours. The run included the main story plus “some optional goals with narrative ramifications.” That makes it useful context about the game’s breadth, but it cannot be converted into “the campaign is 80 hours.”

Three qualifications define the report:

  • It was one person’s playthrough. Nelson’s pace, decisions and priorities are not a universal player profile.
  • It included optional content. The reported total was not limited to critical-path story missions.
  • It used a non-final build. Development builds can change before launch, so the figure is not a final product specification.

The 80-hour account therefore sits between a formal announcement and a rumor. It is a named developer’s reported experience, not an official promise about the time required to complete the campaign.

Nelson also described ordinary role-playing routines, including eating an apple, opening a fridge and drinking a smoothie. Those details suggest that the build supports activities beyond mission objectives, but they do not add a fixed number of hours to the story.

How do the 100-hour and 80-hour claims differ?

Comparing the claims by source, scope and build context shows why neither one establishes a final campaign length.

Claim or figure Source status Scope Build or context What it can support
“100 hours” Social-media interpretation of a Kiwi Talkz remark Presented as the whole story campaign Personal schedule comment, not a playthrough Only that the number was circulated; Kiwi Talkz later rejected the interpretation
About 80 hours Insider Gaming report about Rob Nelson Main story plus some optional goals with narrative ramifications One developer’s run on a February 2026 non-final build Evidence that a substantial playthrough can occupy about 80 hours under those conditions
No published duration Rockstar’s official public product information Campaign length not specified Final launch specification unavailable in the cited reporting The only safe statement about Rockstar’s official runtime position: no figure has been given

This is why “100 hours debunked” and “80 hours confirmed” are not equivalent conclusions. The first corrects a demonstrably wrong attribution. The second reports a real playthrough while preserving its limits.

What has Rockstar officially confirmed about GTA 6?

Rockstar’s official product page lists Grand Theft Auto VI for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S, with a release date of November 19, 2026. Its synopsis identifies Jason and Lucia and describes a criminal conspiracy across the fictional state of Leonida. The page includes pre-order calls to action, but it does not give a story-campaign hour count.

GamesRadar has repeated Rockstar’s description that GTA 6’s map is three times the size of Red Dead Redemption 2’s map. That is a scope comparison, not a conversion into story hours. Map area can be filled with roads, activities, interiors and optional encounters without requiring every player to visit all of them, so the statement cannot validate either 80 or 100 hours.

The platform information also sets a boundary on current claims. Rockstar’s listed editions are the PS5 and Xbox Series X|S versions; a PC version is not listed on that official product page. The absence of a listed PC edition is not proof that one can never exist, but it means PC-specific runtime assumptions are premature.

Why will players record different completion times?

GTA 6 appears designed to let players spend time away from mission objectives, and those choices will naturally widen completion totals. Rockstar development head Phil Hooker described spending two hours on emergent activities without getting close to the intended story mission. That example illustrates how a player can accumulate substantial time while making little progress through the critical path.

Completion time can vary with several decisions:

  • Critical-path focus: moving directly from one required mission to the next produces a shorter total than exploring Leonida.
  • Optional goals: side objectives with narrative consequences add content that is not part of a minimal story route.
  • Emergent play: unscripted encounters, activities and role-playing routines can occupy hours without advancing the next mission.
  • Exploration pace: driving, investigating locations and experimenting with systems changes the clock even when two players complete the same missions.
  • Replay choices: different decisions and approaches can lead players through different amounts of optional material.

These variables explain how an individual developer could report an approximately 80-hour run without implying that every player needs 80 hours, or that the main story alone lasts that long.

Does a map three times larger mean a 100-hour campaign?

No. A larger map indicates more physical space and potential activities, not a guaranteed story duration. The comparison with Red Dead Redemption 2 describes scale; it does not state how many missions GTA 6 contains, how long each mission takes, or how much optional content is required.

Map size is especially weak evidence for a campaign-hour calculation because players can bypass large areas, revisit the same locations, or spend time in activities unrelated to the next story objective. Until Rockstar defines what it counts as a campaign and publishes a duration, map comparisons should be treated as world-building context only.

When did the 100-hour rumor get corrected?

The documented timeline separates the rumor from the later, more qualified information.

  1. Before July 21, 2026: a Reddit post interpreted Kiwi Talkz’s “long time” comment as a 100-hour campaign claim and spread across leak communities and X.
  2. July 21, 2026: Beebom reported Kiwi Talkz’s correction and his statement that people treat everything he says as a leak.
  3. February 2026 playthrough, reported August 27, 2026: Insider Gaming said Rob Nelson spent about 80 hours with a build containing the main story and some optional goals.
  4. November 19, 2026: Rockstar’s official product page lists the scheduled release date for PS5 and Xbox Series X|S.

The dates do not turn the 80-hour report into a prediction for launch. They show only that the correction came first in the public record and that the later figure described a specific developer run.

How should you evaluate future GTA 6 runtime reports?

Readers can avoid another inflated headline by checking three questions before treating a number as authoritative.

Is the source official, named and attributable?

A Rockstar statement on an official product or newsroom page carries a different status from an anonymous post or a community paraphrase. A named developer’s account can be informative, but it remains an individual experience unless Rockstar presents it as a specification.

What content does the number include?

Ask whether the figure covers required story missions only, side missions, optional goals, exploration, collectibles or repeated attempts. “Completion time” is meaningless without that scope.

Was the run made on the final release?

A pre-release or non-final build may change through editing, balancing, mission redesign or content adjustments. A number from such a build should be labeled as an observed run under development conditions, not as the final campaign length.

Applying those checks leaves the current position straightforward: the 100-hour campaign story is a debunked misreading, the 80-hour figure is a qualified developer playthrough, and Rockstar’s official campaign duration remains unannounced.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the 80-hour figure a speedrun or a completionist estimate?

Neither description was given. The report identifies it as Rob Nelson’s own playthrough, combining the main story with some optional goals on a non-final build, without labeling his pace as a speedrun or a completionist route.

Could GTA 6’s final story still last 100 hours?

It is possible in the abstract, but no cited source supports that number. Until Rockstar publishes a duration or explains a comparable scope, 100 hours should remain speculation rather than an expectation.

Does Rockstar’s official page list a PC version of GTA 6?

The official product information cited here lists PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. It does not list a PC edition, so PC release timing and any PC-specific completion estimates cannot be established from that page.

Why was the Reddit post about the 100-hour campaign removed?

The post spread a reinterpretation of Kiwi Talkz’s comment through leak communities and X, and moderators removed it. Its removal and Kiwi Talkz’s clarification address the claim’s origin, not the eventual length of the game.