VGKAMI
Advertise Get listed

Game Guides

How to Preload the Battlefield 6 Open Beta on PC, PS5, and Xbox Series X|S

October 26, 2026 6 min read

You cannot preload or play the Battlefield 6 Open Beta now. Electronic Arts announced a preload start of August 4, 2025, at 15:00 UTC (8:00 a.m. PT), followed by two public weekends in August. Those dates have passed, and the Open Beta is not the same product as the full game that launched on October 10, 2025.

This historical guide records the announced timing, supported platforms, access routes, account requirements, and the one stated PC security requirement so you can identify old beta information accurately.

Is the Battlefield 6 Open Beta still available to preload?

No. The announced preload period and both public test weekends are over, so there is no current Open Beta download to start on PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Steam, the Epic Games Store, or the EA app.

EA later released the full Battlefield 6 game on October 10, 2025. That launch is a separate product and does not reopen, extend, or replace the Open Beta. A store listing for the full game should not be interpreted as a beta installer.

When could players download the Battlefield 6 beta?

EA’s July 31, 2025 announcement established August 4 at 15:00 UTC as the earliest preload time. Access then opened in stages rather than for everyone at once.

Event Start End Who could participate
Open Beta preload August 4, 2025, 15:00 UTC (8:00 a.m. PT) Not stated as a separate closing time Players on the announced platforms
Early Access August 7, 2025, 08:00 UTC (1:00 a.m. PT) Before Public Weekend 1 opened Battlefield Labs participants registered by July 31, or viewers who unlocked access through selected creator streams
Public Weekend 1 August 9, 2025, 08:00 UTC August 11, 2025, 08:00 UTC Anyone; no code required
Public Weekend 2 August 14, 2025, 08:00 UTC August 18, 2025, 08:00 UTC Anyone; no code required

The preload date was a download milestone, not the beginning of general play. Players with Early Access could start on August 7, while the two unrestricted public periods began later.

Which platforms supported the Open Beta?

EA listed the current-generation consoles and three PC storefronts below. The announcement did not list PlayStation 4, Xbox One, or a separate cloud version.

Platform Supported distribution
PlayStation 5 PlayStation 5
Xbox Series X|S Xbox Series X|S
PC Steam, Epic Games Store, or the EA app

Before starting, EA advised players to link their EA Account to the account used on their console or PC platform. That linkage mattered because beta access was tied to the participating EA identity, especially for people who had registered for Battlefield Labs.

How did Early Access differ from the public beta weekends?

The access routes had different eligibility rules. Public weekends were open to everyone without a code, while the earlier session required a qualifying route.

Battlefield Labs registration

Anyone who had signed up for Battlefield Labs before July 31, 2025 did not need an additional code for Early Access. EA instructed those players to use the same EA Account they had registered with Battlefield Labs.

Creator-stream unlocks

Other players could unlock Early Access by watching selected creators during the July 31 Twitch reveal streams. This was an access promotion for the Early Access period, not a requirement for the later public weekends.

Public Weekend 1 and Public Weekend 2

Both public weekends were announced as open to anyone and did not require a code. Having missed Early Access therefore did not prevent participation during either public window, provided the player joined while that window was active.

What did PC players need before they could play?

EA stated that Secure Boot was required to play the Open Beta on PC. If Secure Boot was not already enabled, the game was expected to prompt the player, and EA directed users to its help documentation for instructions.

That requirement was explicitly described as a condition for playing. EA’s announcement did not establish Secure Boot as a prerequisite for downloading or preloading the files, so it is inaccurate to claim that the setting was required merely to begin the download.

Did EA publish exact preload instructions for each store?

No detailed, historical button-by-button route was included in the official announcement. It named Steam, the Epic Games Store, and the EA app as PC distribution services, but it did not specify the exact search term, listing name, menu, or button that appeared in each client.

For that reason, old instructions that present a particular store path as EA’s official procedure should be treated cautiously. The dependable parts of the process were the announced platform, the relevant storefront or console account, the linked EA Account, and the applicable access window. Store interfaces can also change after a beta ends, making screenshots from August 2025 unreliable as current navigation instructions.

What should I do if I find an old “preload” listing?

Use the date and product name to determine what the listing represents:

  • “Open Beta” dated August 2025: historical beta information; it is no longer an active test download.
  • “Battlefield 6” with an October 10, 2025 release date: the full game, not the Open Beta.
  • A PC listing in Steam, the Epic Games Store, or the EA app: a storefront entry does not by itself prove that beta access remains enabled.
  • A request for an EA Account: consistent with EA’s requirement to link the EA identity to the platform account, but it does not restore an expired event.

Do not install unofficial files claiming to recreate the test. The official schedule ended in August 2025, and no continuing Open Beta service was announced.

What is available after the beta?

EA’s post-beta information describes the full Battlefield 6 game as available digitally and at retail on PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Steam, the EA app, and the Epic Games Store. Those availability statements concern the released game only; they are not evidence that the beta can still be downloaded or that beta participants retain access.

The available information also does not establish any console, storage device, PC accessory, or networking product as necessary for the historical preload. The only specifically stated PC play requirement was Secure Boot.

Historical preload checklist

  1. Check whether the page refers to the August 2025 Open Beta or the full game released October 10, 2025.
  2. For the historical beta schedule, note the preload announcement: August 4, 2025, at 15:00 UTC.
  3. Match the platform to the announced scope: PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Steam, Epic Games Store, or the EA app.
  4. Use the EA Account linked to the relevant platform account; Battlefield Labs participants were told to use the account registered with Labs.
  5. Separate Early Access eligibility from the public weekends: Labs registration or a creator-stream unlock applied to Early Access, while the public weekends required no code.
  6. On PC, verify Secure Boot for play if the game prompts for it; the announcement did not call it a download prerequisite.

Frequently Asked Questions

Did the Open Beta support PS4 or Xbox One?

EA’s announcement named PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S, along with PC storefronts. It did not list PlayStation 4 or Xbox One, so those older consoles should not be assumed to have been supported.

Did I have to buy the full game to join a public weekend?

EA described both public weekends as available to anyone and said no code was needed. The announcement did not state that purchasing the October release was required for those test periods.

Could a beta installation be converted into the full game?

Nothing in EA’s schedule says that the beta files became the retail release. The full game was a separate October 10, 2025 launch, so an old beta installation should not be treated as a supported upgrade path.

Why might an old beta guide show a different start time?

The schedule was published in UTC with a Pacific Time conversion for some milestones. Confusion can result when a guide converts UTC to a different local time zone or omits the date attached to the conversion.