VGKAMI
Advertise Get listed

Game Guides

How to Preorder GTA 6 in the US: Editions, Codes, Retailers, and Refund Rules

Published 11 min read

US preorders for Grand Theft Auto VI opened on June 25, 2026. The game is scheduled for November 19, 2026 on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. Standard costs $79.99 and includes the game; Ultimate costs $99.99 and adds Rockstar’s listed vehicles, weapons, apparel, locations, and other story-integrated content. A boxed Standard Edition is a download code, not a disc, and there is no physical Ultimate Edition confirmed in Rockstar’s platform documentation.

Your safest purchase depends on the platform account, the code’s region, when downloading begins, and the seller’s cancellation policy. The guide below compares official digital stores with Rockstar Store physical preorders and explains what to verify before paying.

At a glance

Name Best for Key spec Free plan / price Platforms Checked
Standard Edition digital Players who want the base game Immediate account delivery; preorder bonus eligibility $79.99 US announced price PS5, Xbox Series X|S Oct 2026
Ultimate Edition digital Players who want Rockstar’s listed extras Game plus vehicles, weapons, apparel, locations and other additions $99.99 US announced price PS5, Xbox Series X|S Oct 2026
Standard Edition boxed code Gift buyers or collectors who want packaging Download code; no disc; shipping or pickup expected from Nov. 12 Retailer price not stated PS5 or Xbox Series X|S, depending on code Oct 2026
Standard-to-Ultimate upgrade Buyers who want to decide later Digital Ultimate Edition Upgrade after redeeming Standard Upgrade price not stated Same platform/account as Standard Oct 2026

Prices are US figures announced by Take-Two Interactive and shown on the checked US PlayStation digital listing; a retailer’s checkout total, taxes and shipping can differ.

When can you play GTA 6, and what does the preorder timeline mean?

Rockstar lists November 19, 2026 as the scheduled launch date for PS5 and Xbox Series X|S. Digital preloading begins November 12, giving eligible digital buyers time to download before launch. Rockstar expects boxed codes to become available for shipping or pickup from November 12, but that is an expected availability date, not a guaranteed arrival date for every order.

  • June 25, 2026: US preorders opened.
  • November 12, 2026: Digital preload starts; boxed-code shipping or pickup is expected to begin.
  • November 19, 2026: Scheduled release on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S.
  • Before November 20, 2026: Qualifying preorders and purchases made before this date receive the Vintage Vice City Pack, subject to the offer’s platform instructions.

Preordering does not guarantee that a physical package reaches you on launch day. If playing at midnight matters, a digital purchase with preload is the more predictable format, provided you accept the store’s download-based refund boundary.

What is included in Standard and Ultimate?

Standard includes the game. Ultimate includes the game plus Rockstar’s listed vehicles, weapons, apparel, locations and other story-integrated additions. The US prices are $79.99 for Standard and $99.99 for Ultimate, but confirm the final checkout total because taxes, shipping and retailer pricing are separate from the announced figures.

Standard Edition

Choose Standard if you only need the core game or want to keep the initial cost lower. It is available digitally and as a boxed download-code package, depending on the retailer and platform.

Ultimate Edition

Ultimate is currently documented as a digital edition. Rockstar’s support material does not establish a physical Ultimate box. The $20 difference from the announced Standard price buys the listed in-game and story-integrated additions, not a disc or a different console.

Can you buy Standard now and upgrade later?

Yes. Rockstar says a Standard owner can purchase the digital Ultimate Edition Upgrade after redeeming the Standard code. The upgrade price was not stated in the reviewed official material, so do not assume it will equal the $20 launch-price difference. The upgrade must remain tied to the same platform ecosystem and account that owns the Standard entitlement.

Is the physical GTA 6 preorder a disc?

No. Rockstar’s official editions document states: “A disc will not be included in the box.” The physical Standard package contains a download code. That means the box does not provide disc ownership, and ordinary disc resale assumptions do not apply.

Before ordering a boxed copy, verify all of the following on the product page:

  • It says PS5 or Xbox Series X|S, rather than leaving the platform unclear.
  • It identifies a download code in a box and does not promise a disc.
  • The seller explains whether the code is printed, sealed inside the package or delivered another way.
  • The return policy distinguishes an unopened code-in-box from a box that has been opened or redeemed.
  • The listing gives a realistic shipping or pickup estimate and states whether launch-day arrival is guaranteed.

A boxed code can still be useful as a gift or for buyers who want retail packaging, but it requires the recipient to redeem the code through the matching platform account.

Where can you preorder GTA 6?

Rockstar names PlayStation Store, Xbox Store and Rockstar Store, along with select country-dependent third-party retailers. For a US purchase, start with the store attached to your console account, then compare a physical code only after checking the seller’s identity, region and return terms.

PlayStation Store

The US PlayStation listing offers digital Standard and Ultimate editions. Digital preorders can preload when the platform makes the download available. PlayStation’s US cancellation policy is the controlling document for that purchase, not the policy of a retailer selling a separate voucher or boxed code.

Xbox Store

Xbox digital preorders are managed through the Microsoft account used to buy the game. Microsoft’s Order history may show a Cancel item action. If the item has been billed and that action is absent, Microsoft directs customers to its refund process rather than promising approval.

Rockstar Store

Rockstar directs physical-preorder buyers to Xsolla for cancellation support. Xsolla’s process applies to physical preorders and allows cancellation only before shipment. It is not the same process as support for a digital purchase.

Other retailers

Rockstar acknowledges select third-party storefronts, but its reviewed US material does not establish a universal retailer list, price or return policy. A third-party listing should be treated as a separate contract: the selling retailer, not Rockstar, decides how an unopened, opened or redeemed code is handled.

How do PlayStation preorder refunds work?

For a US PlayStation Store digital preorder, cancellation eligibility depends on both payment timing and whether the main product download or preload has started. PlayStation’s policy is published at playstation.com/en-us/legal/playstation-store-cancellation-policy.

  • If payment was made more than 14 days before the scheduled release, an otherwise eligible preorder can generally be canceled before release.
  • If payment was made 14 days or less before release, the cancellation window generally runs up to 14 days from payment.
  • Starting the main product download or preload generally ends refund eligibility unless the product is faulty.
  • Automatic downloads can therefore affect your rights even if you have not launched the game.
  • The policy does not cover vouchers purchased from outside retailers.

Check the console’s automatic-download setting before preordering if preserving the cancellation option matters. Add-on content or bonus downloads may have separate treatment, so follow the instructions attached to the specific listing.

How do Xbox preorder refunds work?

For an Xbox or Microsoft Store digital preorder, open your Microsoft account’s Order history and look for Cancel item. Microsoft documents the process at support.microsoft.com/en-us/accounts-billing/cancel-an-order-or-pre-order-from-microsoft-store.

Microsoft says digital preorders paid with Microsoft-account funds are charged immediately. Other payment methods may be charged up to 10 days before release. If the cancellation control is unavailable after billing, use Microsoft’s separate refund route; approval is not automatic. Do not apply PlayStation’s 14-day wording to an Xbox purchase.

How do Rockstar Store physical cancellations work?

Rockstar’s physical-preorder support FAQ sends customers to Xsolla. Xsolla permits cancellation only before the order ships and uses a form that requests order details. Once shipment has occurred, the seller’s applicable return terms—not a general digital-store rule—control the next step.

Use the physical-preorder support information at support.rockstargames.com/articles/40DHWEDBnq5jUuWJqKcH02/grand-theft-auto-vi-pre-order-purchase-support-faq. Keep the order number and the email used at checkout so the seller can locate the transaction.

What happens if a boxed code is opened or redeemed?

There is no single US-wide rule that makes every boxed code refundable for 14 days. Ask the retailer, in writing if possible, how it treats a sealed box, an opened box and a redeemed code. A code that has been revealed or redeemed may be considered used even if the game has not launched.

PlayStation’s digital-preorder policy does not govern a voucher bought from another store. Likewise, Microsoft’s Order history controls a Microsoft purchase, not a code purchased from a local retailer. If a seller refuses a return after redemption, the platform generally cannot reverse a transaction it did not process.

How do you avoid region and account problems?

Match the purchase to the country of the platform account whenever possible. Rockstar recommends buying from a retailer in the country of the platform account to avoid activation problems. Its PlayStation code-region list groups the United States and Canada as North America.

  1. Confirm whether the code is US, North American, or another regional edition.
  2. Check the country set on the PSN or Microsoft account that will redeem it.
  3. Confirm the console platform: PS5 codes do not substitute for Xbox Series X|S codes.
  4. Ask whether the code can be redeemed while traveling or from a different storefront.
  5. Save the listing and receipt showing the promised region before opening the box.

Country-specific pricing, offers, taxes, code restrictions and consumer rights require separate checks. A Canadian code may be grouped with the US in a North America region list, but that does not make every retailer’s terms interchangeable.

What preorder bonuses and GTA+ terms should you check?

Qualifying preorders and purchases made before November 20, 2026 receive the Vintage Vice City Pack. Qualifying digital preorders also offer one month of GTA+. Eligibility and claiming steps can vary by platform, so read the offer panel attached to the checkout page.

On the checked US PlayStation listing, the GTA+ month must be claimed by March 31, 2027. The subscription continues at its regular monthly price unless canceled. Treat the month as a promotional subscription, not as a permanently free service, and set a reminder if you do not want recurring billing.

A retailer’s code-in-box listing may describe the game but omit bonus instructions. Before paying, verify that the listing says the preorder qualifies, identifies where the bonus is claimed and states any expiration date.

Which GTA 6 format should you choose?

Choose digital Standard when

  • You want the lowest announced entry price.
  • You want preload access without waiting for shipping.
  • You do not need Ultimate’s listed additions.
  • You are comfortable with the platform’s download-based refund boundary.

Choose digital Ultimate when

  • You already want the listed Ultimate content.
  • You prefer one digital transaction instead of buying an upgrade later.
  • You accept that no physical Ultimate Edition is established by Rockstar’s current documentation.

Choose a boxed Standard code when

  • You are giving the game as a physical-looking gift.
  • You want retailer packaging or pickup.
  • You have confirmed the exact platform, region and code-return policy.
  • You can tolerate a delivery date that is not guaranteed for launch day.

Buy Standard first and upgrade later when

This route preserves a lower initial purchase while leaving the digital Ultimate upgrade available after code redemption. It also creates a second purchase decision, and the upgrade price was not stated, so use it only if that uncertainty is acceptable.

What should you check before clicking Buy?

  1. Platform: Select PS5 or Xbox Series X|S explicitly.
  2. Edition: Confirm Standard or Ultimate and read the included-content list.
  3. Format: Determine whether the product is a direct digital entitlement or a boxed download code.
  4. Total: Review the current checkout amount, tax and any shipping charge rather than relying only on the $79.99 or $99.99 announcement.
  5. Timing: Check preload availability, the November 12 boxed-code expectation and the seller’s delivery estimate.
  6. Bonus: Verify Vintage Vice City Pack and GTA+ eligibility, claim instructions and deadlines.
  7. Region: Match the code country to the account country.
  8. Cancellation: Read the relevant PlayStation, Microsoft, Rockstar Store/Xsolla or retailer rule before downloading, opening or redeeming.
  9. Evidence: Save the order confirmation, product page and code-region statement.

What are the most common preorder mistakes?

  • Assuming a box contains a disc: Rockstar says the box contains a download code and no disc.
  • Expecting a physical Ultimate Edition: Current official material documents Ultimate digitally, not as a physical package.
  • Using the wrong refund policy: PlayStation’s policy does not cover an outside retailer’s voucher, and Microsoft’s Order history does not control a local store’s code.
  • Preloading before deciding: On PlayStation, starting the main download generally ends the normal preorder-refund path.
  • Ignoring recurring GTA+ billing: The promotional month continues at the regular monthly price unless canceled.
  • Buying by headline price alone: Taxes, shipping and a retailer’s current price can change the checkout total.
  • Assuming launch-day delivery: November 12 is Rockstar’s expected boxed-code availability date, not a guarantee that every package arrives by November 19.
  • Redeeming before checking the return policy: Revealing or redeeming a code can change how the seller classifies the product.

How we picked the comparison points

The comparison focuses on the decisions that can change a US buyer’s outcome: edition contents, PS5 versus Xbox Series X|S compatibility, digital entitlement versus boxed code, total cost and shipping, preload or delivery timing, bonus eligibility, account and code region, cancellation deadlines, and the refund route after opening, downloading or redeeming. Official platform and Rockstar support rules take priority over a retailer’s marketing description.

Official pages to keep open while ordering

Frequently Asked Questions

Will GTA 6 launch on PS4, Xbox One or PC?

Rockstar’s current official platform list for this preorder guide names only PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. The cited material does not establish a PC, PS4 or Xbox One preorder, so do not buy a listing that claims one without separate official confirmation.

Can I share a GTA 6 digital preorder with another account?

The purchase and any redeemed code are tied to the platform account and its regional rules. Check the console maker’s account-sharing and primary-console settings; Rockstar’s preorder pages do not promise transferability between accounts.

Do I need a disc drive to play the boxed Standard Edition?

No. The boxed Standard Edition contains a download code, so installation uses the platform’s digital store and an internet connection. A disc drive is not required for that code-based format.

What if my GTA 6 code is missing or already used?

Keep the receipt, packaging and order number, then contact the seller that supplied the code. Rockstar directs questions about purchases made outside its store to the selling retailer, while platform support may help only after the retailer confirms the transaction.