There is no verified gigabyte figure yet for Slime Rancher 2 on Nintendo Switch 2. Nintendo announced the port on October 28, 2026, for January 2027, but its announcement does not state a download size or an exact launch day. Until Nintendo publishes the game’s Switch 2 eShop listing, the only reliable answer is to check that listing’s required-space field when it appears. Do not use the 1.1 GB figure shown for the first game’s Slime Rancher: Plortable Edition, the 8 GB Windows requirement, or the console’s 256 GB capacity as a substitute for the sequel’s Switch 2 size.
How much storage does Slime Rancher 2 need on Switch 2?
As of October 30, 2026, the Switch 2 storage requirement for Slime Rancher 2 is not published. Nintendo’s announcement says only that “Slime Rancher 2 launches for Nintendo Switch 2 in January 2027.” The announcement does not identify a file size, minimum free-space requirement, exact January date, or physical-edition format. You should therefore treat every numerical claim about the Switch 2 version as unconfirmed until the official game listing appears.
For a digital purchase, Nintendo says to verify the required-space field on the game’s own Nintendo eShop page before buying. For a boxed release, the required-space information should be printed on the packaging. Nintendo’s support guidance is explicit: “You should always verify that you have the required storage space before making your purchase.”
Nintendo’s October 28, 2026 announcement is the primary confirmation of the platform and January 2027 window. It does not supply a storage figure.
Which Slime Rancher storage figures are real, and which are unrelated?
Several numbers appear in official listings, but they describe different products or hardware. Keeping them separate prevents a misleading answer to the Switch 2 question.
| Figure | What it describes | What it does not establish | Source checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1.1 GB | Slime Rancher: Plortable Edition, the first game, in a Nintendo eShop listing that includes a Switch 2 compatibility column | The size of Slime Rancher 2 on Switch 2 | Nintendo eShop listing, checked October 2026 |
| 8 GB available space | The Windows PC system requirement for Slime Rancher 2 | A minimum, estimate, or measured installed size for the Switch 2 port | Monomi Park’s Steam listing, checked October 2026 |
| 256 GB nominal capacity | Switch 2’s built-in storage capacity, with some space reserved for system data | 256 GB of free space or the game’s download size | Nintendo Support, checked October 2026 |
Nintendo also cautions that installation may require more or less free space than the figure displayed in a listing. The 1.1 GB entry is especially easy to misread because it is the original game’s listing, not the sequel’s. The 8 GB PC figure describes a Windows installation requirement and cannot be converted into a Switch 2 prediction; different operating systems, assets, compression and patching can produce different requirements.
When will the Switch 2 size be known?
The most useful update will be the game’s own Nintendo eShop page. Nintendo normally places required-space information in the product listing, and that field can be revised as a release build, patches or downloadable content are finalized. Check the listing again when Nintendo opens the page for pre-purchase or purchase, rather than relying on an older social post or a third-party database.
The announced January 2027 window is not an exact date. A precise launch day, a final required-space value and details of any physical format are separate pieces of information that have not been supplied in the announcement. The original game reached its full launch on other platforms on September 23, 2025, according to Monomi Park’s press fact sheet; that date does not change the separate January 2027 Switch 2 schedule.
Do I need a microSD Express card?
Not necessarily. You need expansion only if the final download, its updates and your other installed software together exceed the free space on the console. Because the sequel’s Switch 2 requirement has not been published, choosing a particular card capacity specifically for this game would be guesswork.
What expansion format does Switch 2 use?
Nintendo says Switch 2 can store downloaded software, updates and downloadable content on a compatible microSD Express card. Ordinary microSD cards are not the appropriate expansion format for Switch 2 software. Nintendo’s storage guidance also says save data remains in the console’s system memory rather than on the expansion card, so moving software does not move your save files to the card.
When the game listing is live, compare three values: the listing’s required download space, the free space currently shown in System Settings, and the capacity available on a compatible microSD Express card. Leave room for updates instead of matching the initial download number exactly. If you buy a card before the game size is known, treat it as general Switch 2 storage expansion, not as a confirmed Slime Rancher 2 requirement.
How can I free space without deleting saves?
Nintendo states that deleting software preserves its save data. You can remove an installed title and redownload it later with the same Nintendo Account, provided you have access to the account and the game remains available.
- Highlight the software on the HOME Menu and press the + button.
- Choose Software Options.
- Select Manage Software, then Delete Software, and confirm.
For a broader cleanup, open System Settings > Data Management > Quick Delete, select the software to remove and confirm. These paths remove the installed program data, not the associated save data. Nintendo’s current storage guidance is available at its Switch 2 support page.
What should I check for a digital or physical copy?
The format changes where you verify storage information, but it does not create a known size where none has been announced.
Digital purchase
- Open the official Nintendo eShop listing for Slime Rancher 2 on Switch 2 after Nintendo publishes it.
- Find the listing’s required-space or software-size field.
- Check available space under Switch 2’s data-management settings, including any microSD Express card.
- Allow additional headroom for launch updates and later downloadable content.
- Complete the purchase only after the available space meets the listing’s requirement.
Nintendo’s guidance on where to find required-space information and when to verify it is summarized in this support article.
Physical purchase
If Nintendo or the publisher confirms a cartridge release, inspect the final package for its storage statement. Do not assume that a physical release means the entire game fits on the cartridge or that no download is needed. Nintendo’s support information explains that a game-key card, if specified for a release, requires downloading the full game data; the physical card functions as the license rather than containing all playable data. No Switch 2 physical edition or game-key-card arrangement for Slime Rancher 2 has been confirmed in the available announcement.
Can the PC requirement predict the Switch 2 download?
No. The Steam page lists 8 GB of available space for the Windows PC version, but that is a platform-specific system requirement, not a measured Switch 2 installation size. It may include space expectations for the operating system, updates or PC file layout, while a console package can use different compression and asset formats. Treating 8 GB as “the Switch 2 size” would turn an unrelated requirement into an unsupported estimate.
Likewise, the first game’s 1.1 GB eShop value cannot be used as a sequel estimate. A sequel can have different environments, assets, updates and technical packaging even when the two games share a series name. The only defensible Switch 2 number will be the one Nintendo publishes for this specific product.
Does Switch 2’s 256 GB capacity mean I have enough room?
It means the console is advertised with 256 GB of internal storage, not that all 256 GB is available for games. Nintendo reserves part of that capacity for the operating system and other system data. The remaining free space also depends on other games, screenshots, video captures, updates and downloadable content already stored on the console.
Before downloading, open the console’s data-management screen and read the current free-space value. Compare that live value with the future Slime Rancher 2 listing, rather than comparing the game’s unknown size with the console’s headline capacity. If the free-space figure is tight, remove an unused software installation or add compatible microSD Express storage while keeping save data in system memory.
What is known about the game’s release status?
Slime Rancher 2 is not being announced as an unreleased early-access game across every platform. Monomi Park’s press fact sheet gives September 23, 2025 as the full launch date on other platforms. Nintendo’s Switch 2 version is a later platform release scheduled for January 2027, and its storage specification remains a separate, pending listing detail.
This distinction matters because an early-access label or an old PC requirement could suggest that the content and file size are still changing. For the Switch 2 purchase decision, use the platform-specific listing Nintendo publishes for the January 2027 version.
What should you do before buying?
- Wait for the official Switch 2 eShop page or confirmed physical packaging.
- Read the required-space field for Slime Rancher 2 itself, not the first game’s listing.
- Check free space on the console at the time of purchase.
- Remember that updates and downloadable content can need additional storage.
- Use a compatible microSD Express card if internal free space is insufficient.
- Do not treat the 8 GB Windows requirement or 1.1 GB first-game figure as a Switch 2 estimate.
- Recheck Nintendo’s listing when the exact January 2027 date, final size or physical format is announced.
The storage answer will become concrete when Nintendo publishes the product page. Until then, the accurate figure is “not stated,” not a guessed number.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will the Switch 2 eShop show the required space before launch?
Nintendo’s product listings normally provide a required-space field, and Nintendo directs buyers to verify it before purchase. Check the specific sequel listing when it becomes available; an entry for another game in the series is not a substitute.
Can I move my Slime Rancher 2 save to a microSD Express card?
No. Nintendo says save data stays in the Switch 2 system memory, while downloaded software, updates and downloadable content can be stored on compatible microSD Express storage. Expanding storage therefore affects where the game files live, not where the save file is kept.
Does a physical Switch 2 copy guarantee no download?
No. Nintendo may use a game-key card or another format that requires downloading some or all game data. Wait for Nintendo or the publisher to confirm the format and read the package’s storage statement before assuming the cartridge is self-contained.
Is the January 2027 release date exact?
No. Nintendo’s October 28, 2026 announcement gives January 2027 as the launch window but does not name a day. The exact date and the storage requirement may appear later on the official product listing.