State of Decay 3 supports solo play and online co-op for up to four people total: one player and as many as three friends. Xbox Store listings also identify cross-platform multiplayer and cross-platform co-op, but Microsoft and Undead Labs have not published a complete Xbox–PC–Steam–PlayStation 5 pairing chart or invitation procedure. The announced co-op design uses a shared world and a shared save that friends can change at different times. Solo mode is confirmed, while offline authentication, split-screen, LAN play and cross-store save transfers remain unconfirmed. The game is targeting 2027 and is still listed as a Steam wishlist title rather than a released product, so the details below describe announced features and an October 2026 beta build, not a final launch specification.
How many people can play State of Decay 3 co-op?
Up to four players can occupy one online co-op session: the host plus three friends. The Xbox Store describes the mode as online co-op for two to four players, so “four friends” would be the wrong count. A solo player is also supported.
Kevin Patzelt, Undead Labs’ creative director, said the game’s world can contain up to three settlements. He also compared the playable space with a map roughly four times the size of one State of Decay 2 map. Those are development descriptions from the June 7, 2026 Xbox Wire interview, not measurements from an independent benchmark. You can read the interview in Xbox Wire’s gameplay-reveal coverage.
The four-player limit is a session capacity, not a statement that every survivor, settlement or item is duplicated four times. The announced model instead gives the group one world to alter together while allowing members to operate independently inside it.
Can Xbox, PC, Steam and PS5 players play together?
Cross-play is advertised, but the exact combinations are not yet documented. The Xbox product pages list “cross-platform multiplayer” and “cross-platform co-op,” and Steam’s listing carries a cross-platform multiplayer label. That confirms the feature at the store-label level; it does not provide a complete platform-pairing matrix, account-linking instructions or an invitation workflow.
| Platform | Announced availability | Published cross-play information | Progress information | Subscription detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Xbox Series X|S | Announced | Xbox Store lists cross-platform multiplayer and co-op | Xbox cloud saves and Play Anywhere are listed | Xbox says online console multiplayer requires Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate |
| Xbox PC | Announced | Xbox Store cross-platform labels apply; exact pairings not stated | Play Anywhere is described as syncing eligible Xbox console and PC progress through an Xbox account | No separate PC requirement is stated in the cited listing |
| Steam | Announced; currently a wishlist page | Steam lists cross-platform multiplayer | Steam-to-Xbox or Steam-to-PlayStation save transfer is not specified | No requirement is stated in the cited listing |
| PlayStation 5 | Announced | The Xbox pages do not specify which PS5 pairings are supported | Cross-store save behavior is not specified | PS5 subscription requirements are not specified here |
PlayStation 5 availability alone does not prove that every PS5-to-Xbox, PS5-to-PC or PS5-to-Steam combination will work. Wait for a dated developer matrix or account-support document before planning a particular group around a specific pairing. The current Xbox listing is at the State of Decay 3 product page, while the broader feature page is at Xbox’s game page.
How does the shared world and shared progression work?
Friends can change one shared world and return to the same shared save asynchronously. Patzelt summarized the design this way: “In a shared world, any one of us can make changes to the world.” That means one player can continue the story, construct facilities or add settlements while another friend is away, then the returning player can join the altered world later.
Undead Labs’ October 9, 2026 closed-beta announcement adds that each co-op participant can recruit survivors, run missions and manage settlements independently. It also describes co-op as untethered: players can separate across the map instead of being forced to remain beside the host. The same announcement says, “State of Decay 3 plays the same whether you’re alone or with up to three friends.” Because that wording describes a beta build, numbers and interface details can still change before launch. The announcement opened a beta on October 13, but its publication does not establish that every person who applied entered the test. See the announcement at Undead Labs’ official site.
What “shared” does not yet prove
- It does not establish that a visitor’s personal inventory is copied permanently into every other player’s campaign.
- It does not establish that an individual’s separate, non-host campaign progresses identically on every platform.
- It does not mean the world runs on a server while nobody is playing. The published description only says that friends can return to a save after someone else has advanced it.
In practical terms, think of the save as a jointly editable settlement-and-story state, not as a promise that every player owns an identical independent file everywhere.
Can I play State of Decay 3 offline?
Offline solo play has not been confirmed. Solo mode is listed, but the official pages checked do not say whether an internet connection, account authentication or a server check is required to start or continue a solo game. Online co-op is explicitly online; that label says nothing about the requirements for solo access.
Do not treat asynchronous co-op as offline functionality. A friend being absent while another person advances the shared save describes when people connect to the game, not whether the game can authenticate without an internet connection. Until Undead Labs or Xbox publishes an offline and authentication FAQ, the safest assumption is that solo availability and offline availability are separate questions with only the first answered.
Is there split-screen, couch co-op or LAN play?
No local mode has been announced in the cited listings. The multiplayer feature that is documented is online co-op. Neither Xbox’s descriptions nor the Steam listing confirms split-screen, same-console couch co-op or a LAN option.
Buying a second controller therefore does not establish a second local player slot. A household wanting to play together should plan around separate online devices and accounts unless a later specification adds a local mode. “Not announced” is more accurate than “impossible,” because the available pages do not make a definitive technical statement.
Are State of Decay 3 saves portable between platforms?
Xbox cloud saves and Xbox Play Anywhere are listed, but universal cross-platform saves are not. Xbox describes Play Anywhere as progress synchronization through an Xbox account between eligible Xbox console and PC versions. That supports moving an eligible Xbox purchase between those Xbox ecosystems, subject to the program’s final launch terms.
Nothing in the cited material confirms Steam-to-Xbox, Steam-to-PlayStation 5 or PlayStation-to-Xbox save transfer. It also does not confirm that a visiting co-op player’s personal progression follows them into a separate campaign. Keep those distinctions in mind when choosing a platform: cross-play lets people play together, while cross-save determines where an individual save can be resumed.
What subscription or purchase is needed for co-op?
Xbox says State of Decay 3 is coming to Game Pass, and its US store says online console multiplayer requires a separately sold Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate subscription. That condition is specifically stated for online console multiplayer. It should not be automatically applied to PC play or interpreted as proof that a subscription is needed for solo access.
The game is not yet available for purchase on Steam; the current Steam page is a wishlist listing. Xbox and Undead Labs are targeting 2027 rather than announcing a firm launch date. The Xbox US store also displays an Xbox One compatibility label, but the main release announcement names Xbox Series X|S, Xbox PC, cloud, Steam and PlayStation 5. The store label should not be treated as a promise of a native Xbox One launch.
What is known about the release platforms?
Xbox’s announced platforms are Xbox Series X|S, Xbox PC, Xbox cloud, Steam and PlayStation 5. Xbox Game Studios remains listed as publisher, while Undead Labs announced independence from Xbox on September 22, 2026. That business change does not by itself alter the co-op features listed above.
What can each co-op player do?
The beta description presents co-op as more than a tethered escort mode. Within the shared world, players can:
- Recruit survivors for their communities.
- Run missions independently.
- Manage settlements.
- Travel separately across the map rather than staying in one small radius.
- Advance the story and build facilities that alter the common save.
The published material does not specify every rule governing quest ownership, loot distribution, death consequences, host migration or what happens when a player disconnects. Those details should be treated as launch questions rather than filled in from assumptions about earlier games.
How should a group prepare before launch?
Because several important rules remain unpublished, a group can avoid misunderstandings by checking these items when the final documentation appears:
- Confirm the four-player cap. Plan for one host and up to three additional players, not four guests.
- Match the exact platforms. Verify that your Xbox, PC, Steam and PS5 combination appears in the official cross-play matrix.
- Check account requirements. Look for sign-in, linking and invitation instructions rather than assuming that a store label supplies them.
- Decide who owns the shared save. The published design allows asynchronous changes, but final rules for host ownership, backups and leaving a session are not yet stated.
- Budget for console online access. If you play on Xbox console, check the current Game Pass tier requirement before launch; PC and solo requirements may differ.
- Do not buy local-play accessories on the assumption of split-screen. No local multiplayer mode is currently documented.
What remains unknown about State of Decay 3 co-op?
The confirmed feature labels answer the broad questions, but they do not fill every operational gap. These points still need an official statement:
- A complete cross-play pairing chart covering Xbox console, Xbox PC, Steam and PS5.
- Whether cross-play requires a linked Xbox account or another account service.
- Offline authentication and whether solo play works without an internet connection.
- Split-screen, couch co-op and LAN support.
- Cross-store save transfer and the treatment of a visitor’s personal progression.
- Host migration, disconnect recovery and save-backup behavior.
- Final release date, launch editions and any changes between the closed beta and release.
These are not minor wording issues: they determine whether a particular household can play together, whether a player can resume a save while traveling, and whether a console subscription is part of the budget. Until the developer publishes those specifics, keep the announced features separate from assumptions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will State of Decay 3 co-op progress carry over from the closed beta to launch?
No carry-over promise has been published. The October 2026 announcement describes a changing beta build whose numbers and interface details may change, so players should not assume beta settlements, survivors or saves will remain in the release version.
Can the host leave and let another player continue the same world?
The shared-world description confirms that friends can make changes at different times, but it does not document host migration or ownership-transfer rules. Whether another participant can continue without the original host must wait for an official save and session FAQ.
Does the Xbox One store label guarantee an Xbox One version?
No. The US store displays an Xbox One compatibility label, while the principal announcement names Xbox Series X|S, Xbox PC, cloud, Steam and PlayStation 5. Treat Xbox One support as unresolved until Xbox publishes a direct platform statement.
Will State of Decay 3 use dedicated servers when everyone logs off?
The published co-op material does not say that the world runs continuously on a dedicated server. It only explains that a player can return to a shared save after another player has advanced it, so server persistence should not be assumed.